

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact:

Cheri Tabel AAFP Foundation (800) 274-2237, ext. 6306 ctabel@aafp.org

AAFP Foundation Announces 2022 Scholars for Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute Leawood, Kan. — As the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Foundation looks to the future, identifying emerging leaders in the specialty remains a top priority, along with providing the extensive training these scholars need to successfully move family medicine forward.

The year-long Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute answers the need. The 2022 class, representing the specialty's diverse communities and interests, is comprised of 30 select scholars from around the country (see full list on next page).

"We're excited to welcome these outstanding residents and medical students to the Emerging Leader Institute," says David R. Smith, MD, MPH, FAAFP, and president of the AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees. "These scholars have demonstrated tremendous leadership potential, and we look forward to providing special mentoring and educational opportunities to help them grow."

Selected students receive a \$1,000 scholarship to attend the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students and can continue learning and networking after the conference through additional Institute programming.

"As Vince Lombardi famously said, 'Leaders aren't born – they're made,'" Smith says. "Through this annual leadership program, we help ensure that family medicine remains strong and viable for generations to come."

How It Works

Funded by family physician donors, the Emerging Leader Institute identifies and trains family medicine residents and medical students who have shown a historical aptitude and strong leadership potential but have little formal leadership training or experience. Over the course of one year, the scholars work with a mentor to complete a leadership project related to one of three tracks: Policy & Public Health Leadership, Personal & Practice Leadership, and Philanthropic & Mission-Driven Leadership. At the end of the program, the projects are evaluated and select scholars are given an additional \$1,000 award to present their work at the next National Conference. One Best Leadership Project Award is named for each track, and receives an additional \$3,000, supporting the scholar's participation in a designated major event related to the track.

About the AAFP Foundation

The Foundation serves as the philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Its mission is to advance family medicine through philanthropy, using humanitarian, educational, and scientific programming to improve health.

The AAFP Foundation Proudly Announces the 2022 Scholars for the Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute:

Anita Albanese PG	6Y1	University of Utah Health Family Medicine Residency
Norman Archer M3	3	UCSF School of Medicine
Nathalia Arias Alzate PG	iY2	Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Berenitze Balladares M4	4	Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
Elise Blaseg PG	iY1	St. Mark's Family Medicine Residency
Jessica Cerdena M4	4	Yale School of Medicine
Nicholas DeVetter PG	iY1	A.T. Still University Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine
Tam Du M3	3	University of California, Riverside School of Medicine
Morgan Finegan M2	2	Keck School of Medicine at University of Southern California
Kristy Hansen M2	2	William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Angelica Johnsen M4	4	UCLA/Charles R. Drew Medical Education Program
Yvonne Kamau PG	iY2	Ascension St. Vincent's Family Medicine Residency Program
Makayla Lagerman M3	3	Penn State College of Medicine
Arden LaGrone M4	4	LSU New Orleans School of Medicine
Tameka Lawrence M3	3	Ross University School of Medicine
Caryssa Lim M3	3	Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine
Rafay Nasir M2	2	Penn State College of Medicine
Caitlin Parke M4	4	University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix
		New York Presbyterian-Columbia University Family
Aerial Petty PG	:V2	Medicine Residency Program
Actian etty	112	Wedeline Residency Frogram
Thomas Ritter PG	iY1	Medical College of Wisconsin
Jason Rivera PG	iY2	University of Colorado Family Medicine Residency
Lillian Rolfe M4	4	Rush University Medical College
Nicolle Siegart PG	iY2	University of Washington Family Medicine Residency
Smita Sinha PG	iY2	Institute for Family Health, Mid-Hudson Program
Nirupamaa Sivanushanthan PG	iY1	Kaiser Permanente Sacramento FM Residency Program
Hannah Spotts M3	3	Penn State College of Medicine
Ian Thomas PG	iY2	McLaren St. Luke's Family Medicine
Ksenia Varlyguina M2	2	Penn State College of Medicine-University Park
Ruth Watson M4	4	Georgetown University School of Medicine
Tiffany Zai M4	1	Touro University California