

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 30, 2021

Contact:

Cheri Tabel AAFP Foundation (800) 274-2237, ext. 6306 ctabel@aafp.org

AAFP Foundation Announces Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute 2021 Scholars

Leawood, Kan. — To strengthen the future of family medicine, the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Foundation continues to grow its year-long leadership development program: the Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute. The 30 scholars selected for the 2021 program represent the diverse communities and interests that comprise and inspire the specialty.

Those selected receive a \$550 scholarship to attend the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students, which will be held virtually again this year. The scholars then continue learning and networking after the conference through additional institute programming.

"The future success of family medicine depends on the physician leaders we mentor today," says Rebecca Jaffe, M.D., president of the AAFP Foundation. "The residents and students who take part in the Emerging Leader Institute have tremendous potential, and we're grateful for their enthusiastic interest in leadership, learning, and growing."

Funded by family physician donors, the program identifies and trains family medicine residents and medical students who have shown a historical aptitude and strong leadership potential but have little formal leadership training or experience. The program, now in its seventh year, continues to generate interest from a diverse pool of applicants.

Over the course of one year, scholarship winners receive training from volunteer faculty and work with a volunteer mentor to complete a leadership project related to one of three tracks: Policy & Public Health Leadership, Personal & Practice Leadership, and Philanthropic & Mission-Driven Leadership.

At the end of the program, the leadership projects are evaluated, and an additional \$1,000 award is given to select recipients, allowing them to present their winning projects at the 2022 National Conference. Finally, one Best Leadership Project Award will be named for each of the three tracks, and the recipient will receive an additional \$3,000 award for participation in a designated major event related to the track. A full listing of the 2021 Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute Scholars is available on the next page.

About the AAFP Foundation

The Foundation serves as the philanthropic arm of the American Academy of Family Physicians. Its mission is to advance family medicine through philanthropy using humanitarian, educational, and scientific programming to improving health. For more information visit aafpfoundation.org.

Family Medicine Leads Emerging Leader Institute: Class of 2021 Scholars

Family Medicine Residents School / Residency

Elliott Brady, MPH Lancaster General Hospital

Beatrice Caballero, MD, MS

University of Washington Family Medicine Residency

University of Texas HSC – Tyler Family Medicine Program

Helen Evans, BS, MD Fairfax Family Medicine – Inova

John Fardell, MD, MPH Mississippi Delta Medical Education Research Consortium

Jessica Filon, MD University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson (South Campus)

Family Medicine Residency Program

Joseph Hinojosa, MD Prisma Health/UofSC School of Medicine, Family Medicine Residency

Greer

Haley Parsley, MD Swedish Medical Center – First Hill

Alexis Ramos, MD UT Health San Antonio

Colbey Ricklefs, MD, MPH University of Washington Family Medicine Residency

Sara Robinson, MD
University of Minnesota Mankato Family Medicine Residency
Mohammed Aamir Saiyed, MD
Central Michigan University Family Medicine Residency Program
Narmeen Syed, MD
DeTar Family Medicine Residency Program in affiliation with Texas

A&M University

Medical Students School

Lisa Anakwenze, MPH, MS

University of Louisville School of Medicine

Shrey Goel University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson Leah Heindel University of Washington School of Medicine

Timothy Huang Rush Medical College

Rashaad-Dreana Jett Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University

Crystal Lin, Msc Stanford Medical School

Victoria Ly William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Dominique Munroe American University of Integrated Sciences

Jamie Pandey, MPH Northeast Ohio Medical University

Pratiti Roy Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine – University Park

Regional Campus

Francesco Satriale Penn State College of Medicine

Marvin So University of Minnesota Medical School Isabella Stokes University of Washington School of Medicine

Catheryn Teav University of the Incarnate Word, School of Osteopathic Medicine

Eduardo Torres Keck School of Medicine of USC Jacob Uskavitch Meharry Medical College

Michaela Ward Northeast Ohio Medical University