January 2016

The Center for the History of Family Medicine (CHFM) has recently welcomed a new member of the Family of Family Medicine to its Board of Curators: the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (ACOFP). Headquartered in Arlington Heights, Illinois, ACOFP is the professional medical association that represents more than 20,000 practicing osteopathic family physicians, residents, and students throughout the United States. The mission of the ACOFP is to promote excellence in osteopathic Family Medicine through quality education, visionary leadership and responsible advocacy.

The decision of the ACOFP Board of Governors to contribute ACOFP's key historical documents to the Center's archives and to contribute $1,000 in 2016 to support the Center's initiatives was announced at the Board's October 17, 2015 meeting. In addition, the ACOFP announced that it had appointed James E. Froelich, III, DO, FACOFP as the organization's first representative to the CHFM's governing Board of Curators. Dr. Froelich has been actively involved in collecting ACOFP's history, including conducting interviews with each ACOFP president.

In announcing the donation, ACOFP President Kevin V. de Regnier, DO, FACOFP dist. stated that "For more than 65 years, the ACOFP has curated the unique history of osteopathic family medicine. We are pleased to share our collection with the Center for the History of Family Medicine." In response to the announcement, AAFP Foundation Executive Director Craig Doane said that "ACOFP is a valued member of the family of Family Medicine, and we deeply appreciate their commitment to help us preserve the historical heritage of the specialty through their support of the Center's Endowment."

With this commitment, the ACOFP Osteopathic Education & Research Foundation joins a strong list of current donors to the CHFM Endowment that includes all of the members of the Family of Family Medicine: American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP); American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation (AAFP Foundation); American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) Foundation; Association of Departments of Family Medicine (ADFM); Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors (AFMRD); North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG); and Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) Foundation.

Share this page