• 2021 AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees Reflects Diversity and Dedication

    January 25, 2021

    Cheri Tabel
    AAFP Foundation
    (800) 274-2237, ext. 6306

    New board members add strength as they build on success achieved in 2020

    The American Academy of Family Physicians Foundation advances the values of family medicine through humanitarian, educational, and scientific philanthropy dedicated to better health for people everywhere.

    The goal is lofty. The reality is down-to-earth. Leaders of the AAFP Foundation continually work to drive changes that lead to better healthcare for all. In 2020, much of the Foundation’s work revolved around meeting the extensive needs created by the COVID-19 pandemic. In 2021, the new AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees will continue that work, while also advancing programs such as Family Medicine Cares, Family Medicine Leads, and Family Medicine Discovers.

    The new board president, Rebecca Jaffe, M.D., spent 35 years providing direct patient care in the Wilmington, Del., area. She now serves as a regional medical director for Aledade, a Bethesda-based company focused on helping primary care physicians provide excellent healthcare while reducing costs.

    “If you look at the 2021 Board of Trustees, you’ll see a tremendous variety of people, experience, and interests; our leaders reflect the diversity found among family physicians, our partners, and the patients and communities we serve,” says Jaffe. “I’m excited about our opportunity to work together and build national and global support for the Foundation’s humanitarian, educational, and scientific programs.”

    Biographical information on the trustees is available on the AAFP Foundation website.

    2021 AAFP Foundation Board of Trustees

    • Rebecca Jaffe, M.D., MPH, FAAFP, President
    • David R. Smith, M.D., MPH, President-Elect
    • Tomás Owens, M.D., FAAFP, Vice President
    • Martin Devine, M.D., FAAFP, Treasurer
    • Heather Palmer, MA, MBA, Executive Director and Secretary
    • R. Shawn Martin, Ex-Officio, Executive Vice President/CEO, AAFP
    • Jay-Sheree Allen, M.D., Physician Trustee
    • Amy Articolo, D.O., FACOOG, Corporate Trustee
    • Justin Bartos, M.D., Physician Trustee
    • Angela Bricco, MBA, Corporate Trustee
    • Keith L. Callahan, M.D., PC, Physician Trustee
    • Andrew J.P. Carroll, M.D., FAAFP, Academy Trustee
    • Andrea Gavin, M.D., At-Large Trustee
    • Dennis Gingrich, M.D., FAAFP, Academy Trustee
    • Gretchen Irwin, M.D., MBA, FAAFP, Chapter Trustee
    • Warren Jones, M.D., FAAFP, Public Trustee
    • Renee Markovich, M.D., Physician Trustee
    • Nada Mlinarevich, MPH, BSN, Corporate Trustee
    • Marci Nielsen, Ph.D., MPH, Public Trustee
    • Knitasha Washington, DHA, FACHE, Public Trustee
    • Christina Pedro, M.D., MBA, Resident Trustee
    • Ashten Duncan, MPH, MS-4, Student Trustee